CSCL in Times of Crisis Webinars

The COVID-19 pandemic has changed school and higher education on a global scale with the rise of online teaching and learning. Online education typically involves the organization of learning objects for widely self-regulated forms of individual learning. Students and teachers alike often miss out on direct, mutual feedback of co-present social interaction.

Collaborative forms of learning aim to develop practices of collaboration and critical thinking as well as skills for working together, building trust, and equal access to quality education. In a series of online events and resources for realizing CSCL in a time of crisis the CSCL Community has invited CSCL practitioners and researchers to share practical approaches, practices, and tools for learning collaboratively online for building a repository of CSCL practices.

Join the webinar series about learning together online best practices:

The Computer-Supported Collaborative Learning (CSCL) community of the International Society of the Learning Sciences (ISLS) together with the Network of Academic Programs in the Learning Sciences (NAPLeS) is offering a live webinar series with presentations as well as Q & A about effective practices, approaches, and tools for fostering a sense of co-presence and community in online teaching and learning.

The 13 webinars will take place weekly, starting on Wednesday, January 13th, 2021 at:

  • 7 am (PST, Los Angeles)
  • 10 am (EST, New York)
  • 3 pm (GMT, London)
  • 10 pm (CST, Beijing)

Please note: Europe and other countries switched to Summer Time last week. Thus, the webinar may be an hour earlier as usual for you.

Find your local time here

The last webinar in our series will be presented by Will Freudenheim, YJ Kim, Peter Kirschmann, and Leslie Coles, MIT Playful Journey Lab:

Virtual Learning Dens: A Third Space for Playful Reflection Webinar

In partnership with the Mendon-Upton Regional School District, the MIT Playful Journey Lab is developing Learning Dens—virtual spaces that provide a weekly activity series to promote playful interactions and reflection among learners. These spaces create a safe, social, virtual opportunity to help educators connect with and support their students and for students to connect with and support one another. Learning Den activities emphasize creative and collaborative forms of reflection and empower each student to recognize the different circumstances that their peers have faced over these past months of the pandemic, fostering a sense of connection and community.

You can stream the webinar and participate in the subsequent Q & A session here on Wednesday, April 7th 2021, 3:00 – 4:00 pm (GMT, London, UK): https://youtu.be/X-VLUVKNPQE

Webinars in the Series: