ILSSA Election Results & ISLS Event (Today!)

Dear ISLS,

We are thrilled to announce the newly elected members of the ILSSA committee, which formally begin their terms during the 2021 Annual Meeting of ISLS. Our new and returning committee members include (terms are 1 year except for co-chairs):

  • Co-chair: Chris Ostrowdun (continuing 2nd year of term)
  • Co-chair: Aireale Rodgers (starting 2-year term)
  • Membership and Outreach: Tuğçe Aldemir
  • Communications: Laura Zeller
  • Treasurer: Canan Turkmen
  • Asia-Pacific Regional Rep: Yawen Yu
  • Europe/UK Regional Rep: Amy Yanhong Li
  • Global South (Central/South America, Africa) Regional Rep: Cassia de Oliveira Fernandez

We thank everyone for participating in the elections and voting!

As a reminder, we will also be hosting our student event at ISLS today (June 10) called “Student Research Crossover – Networking” where you can meet fellow students. This will be followed by “Student Research Crossover Party” where you can talk more to the committee and play some games while connecting with peers with similar interests.

Hope to see many of you there!
Chris Ostrowdun, Co-Chair ILSSA

Related Articles

ISLS 2024 Reviewer Invitations

The ISLS 2024 team is thrilled to have received a large number of papers, posters, and symposia for this year’s annual meeting, a total of 893 submissions! We have currently sent out reviewer invitations to prior reviewers and 2024 submitters. If you fall under either of those categories and have NOT received an invitation and would like to volunteer, please check your email and spam folders.

JLS Outstanding Paper (2022): Utilizing dance resources for learning and engagement in STEM

This paper authored by Folashadé Solomon, Dionne Champion, Mariah Steele and Tracey Wright received the Outstanding Paper Award from the Journal of the Learning Sciences. As the selection panel comments, “By employing culturally responsive pedagogy, the authors established a connection between the learning of physics and dance education, thereby promoting access and equity…The meticulous analysis provided insights into how dance, as an embodied form of knowledge, facilitated a transformation in the black girls’ relationship with physics.”